It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:20 am
Change font size

Out of Character Chatter

Anyone else here with zero RP experience?

Want to hang out and have a friendly, off-topic discussion with your fellow players and the staff? This is the place to do it.

Moderator: Elder Staff

Anyone else here with zero RP experience?

Postby jimhabegger » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:47 am

Seriously, I mean zero point zero zero. I've never played any table-top RP game, beyond trying once to create a character to play Dungeons and Dragons with my family, which we never did. I've never played in any MUD. I've never played in any rich, collaborative storytelling game at all, and I've never written any stories of any kind. I have zero experience elaborating a character's appearance and actions, and very little experience even seeing it done.

The only time I've even tried, I failed miserably. I could never come up with any better than "leans back against the wall," "sighs," "frowns faintly," "nods," "raises his eyebrows," or "looks pensively at x."

I'm afraid that if and when I actually go into the game, I'll spoil the RP for anyone who has the misfortune to see me.

Is there anyone else here with zero RP experience, or who feels the way I do?
jimhabegger
Dwarf Recruit

Re: Anyone else here with zero RP experience?

Postby Yoink » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:07 am

Don't sweat it.
I've seen characters who were fun to be around despite barely using more than the basic socials! It's more a matter of knowing your character yourself, how they act and think and feel, and then converting that into emotes and dialogue. As long as you work out who your character is and do your best to show that, it'll work out- and descriptive, flowery fancy-pants emotes and such will come with time. :)

I know my first couple of RPI characters were pretty bland, that's for sure- and let's not even mention the time before that when I tried various other muds, haha.
Have fun, and hopefully I'll see you in game at some point!